KH issues with the starter crank..

Production K Models

KH issues with the starter crank..

Postby IIKickstarterII » Wed Jun 07, 2017 3:54 pm

Hi everyone!
I'm new to the forum and I'm also a happy new owner of a KH-55 mod. I have experience with the W series, but I'm a noob with the K's:) I brought the bike home last weekend and as all new owners I wanted to fire up the bike. This turned out to be a interesting experience. The starter crank stands when seen from the side of the bike about 10 o'clock. Normally 12 o'clock? I feel like I lost about 30 percent of the kick. I'm not a big guy so I feel I need all 110 percent :lol: . Anyone know something about the problem and how to solve it? Pic attached.
Attachments
IMAG0459.jpg
IMAG0459.jpg (224.33 KiB) Viewed 14799 times
IIKickstarterII

Re: KH issues with the starter crank..

Postby hennesse » Sat Jun 10, 2017 10:57 am

IIKickstarterII wrote:Hi everyone!
The starter crank stands when seen from the side of the bike about 10 o'clock. Normally 12 o'clock? I feel like I lost about 30 percent of the kick.

The big spring should return the crank to about 11:30 - roughly pointing at the top of the shock absorber. As you rotate the crank, it should engage around 10:30

Unfortunately, all the action takes place on the other side - inside the primary case, and you have to remove the clutch hub to get to the starter parts. Not an easy job.

I'm at a loss here. The crank gear has a square hole, so it can only be correct or 90 degrees out - not 45 degrees out like yours. There's a stop pin which fits into a slot in the crank gear - this keeps it from going too far in either direction. But since the crank gear can be either correct or 90 degrees... There's a little thrust plate that has to lined up on assembly, if this slipped off during assembly - could it possibly prevent the gear from returning fully?