Factory-Modified V.I.N.

Classic short-frame models

Factory-Modified V.I.N.

Postby bill pedalino » Mon Apr 13, 2020 4:12 pm

I worked as a mechanic at a Long Island Harley Dealership in the late '60/early '70's. in 1971 I remember un-crating and setting up a Sportster that had an original factory V.I.N stamped, those numbers then struck-over and the actual number (official) stamped immediately below the strike-through. Given that this time period was the heyday for stolen bikes, I thought it a bit strange but the Factory assured the Dealership that this was acceptable practice, the Dealership accepted the bike, and sold it to a customer.

About three years later I worked at an independent Harley repair/chopper shop where a customer offered me a burned up (in a fire) 1970 CH Sportster. Before I bought the bike, I noted that it also had a Factory-renumbered V.I.N. and given my previous experience at the Dealership, I didn't think anything of it. I purchased the bike, rebuilt it, stroked it, and rode it it off and on for many years and I still own it.

I'm now planning to restore it and have it judged by the AMCA as a period-modified machine (I added an electric start which I refuse to remove). However..... I'm now a bit Leary about the V.I.N. I'm wondering if I should write the Factory, give them the V.I.N. number, and ask that they issue a letter of confirmation of the bike's legitimacy. Would anyone know of a Department or person at the Factory whom I might be contact?

Thanks
bill pedalino

Re: Factory-Modified V.I.N.

Postby 55panman » Mon Apr 13, 2020 5:26 pm

Weren't all the factory records lost in a fire at some point in the 60's or early 70's??
55panman

Postby hugoct » Mon Apr 13, 2020 5:39 pm

The records still exist.
Access to them is a whole different matter.
The people in Milwaukee are far more likely to assist a dealer.
hugoct

Postby panic » Mon Apr 13, 2020 5:55 pm