Big Gas Tank Dent Question

All things K & Sportster

Big Gas Tank Dent Question

Postby starcain » Wed Apr 21, 2021 1:43 pm

Anyone that's been around K Models or early Sportsters for any length of time probably has seen examples of big tanks that have a sizeable dent on the top rear section of the tank right in front of the seat nose. I have been perplexed by this for years not knowing what actually happens to cause this. I have little to no knowledge on buddy seats but have to believe they are rigidly mounted so they can't move forward. The solo seat has a pivot point at the front T bar bolt. If T bar is unlatched in the back it could conceivably make the seat rotate up and drive the nose into the tank? My problem is I can't come up with a scenario to why that would happen. Could it be that while riding with the seat unlatched for whatever reason and you came to a sudden stop the seat would rotate around with you on it??? Or, could someone be rotating the seat to get to the battery or whatever and rotate the seat up with enough pressure to dent the tank?? Either scenario really doesn't make much logical sense but I don't know what else to think. If anyone has the answer or has personal experience in producing said dent I would be curious to hear about it.

Stan
Attachments
7.JPG
7.JPG (144.19 KiB) Viewed 5770 times
starcain

Re: Big Gas Tank Dent Question

Postby Magneto Sportster » Thu Apr 22, 2021 11:26 pm

The buddy seats flex when the rider hits a sizable bump/pothole? That has always been my theory.

The factory did not leave much clearance when they mounted the buddy seats. I usually add a washer to two to give a little extra clearance to prevent damage to the tank and rear fender.
Magneto Sportster

Postby chuckthebeatertruck » Tue Apr 27, 2021 4:20 pm

I once shared the same theory about the seat flex -- but I recently broke a welded on seat tab during a ride.

I didn't notice until I went to start the bike the next day.